“Semper Gumby,” Always Flexible

Gumby
“Semper Gumby,” Always Flexible

One of the interesting catch phrases I learned while working as a civilian employee of the U.S. Army is “Semper Gumby,” which means, “Always Flexible.”  It is used as a tongue-in-cheek war cry when something inexplicable occurs to necessitate an abrupt course adjustment or change in plans.  I’ve learned that it is a very valuable personal philosophy for the workplace.  As I go through the daily process of accomplishing my designated mission it has become clear to me that I must endeavor to remain flexible, if for nothing else to retain my own sanity. As I am presented with an especially challenging circumstance (or person), I find it comforting to invoke those simple words and change my attitude.

I have a job to do.  If I can remain flexible and open to possibilities, I can navigate any difficulties that arise while maintaining a reasonably pleasant outlook.

As I go forward and deal with a particularly prickly co-worker or a inordinately intricate mandatory procedure I remind myself that I must always remain flexible.

So, like Frank Costanza’s cry of “serenity now” from the TV sitcom Seinfeld, I chant “Semper Gumby” and press on…

One thought on ““Semper Gumby,” Always Flexible

  1. this is hilarious Slade. I was just going through some of your past work and I have a million questions for you. what program did you use to create the 3 d stuff? What program did you use to create the graphics for the TV productions? Have you written a children’s book? I have a series (some written but I need to find an illustrator or better yet teach myself) and can “see” it in my head, I just can’t get it out. Do you have any training tools for any of the above? I am trying to get time to teach myself final cut but it hasn’t happened yet. I’m still weak from the surgery. anyhow – all cool stuff – by the way – this is Jeannie haha Have a great day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

