Remembering Nashville, 10 years later

The Nashville Skyline back in 2004, taken with my first DSLR camera, a Canon Digital Rebel using a 30 second exposure.  It was taken from near the Titans football stadium across the river
The Nashville Skyline back in 2004, taken with my first DSLR camera, a Canon Digital Rebel using a 30 second exposure. It was taken from near the Titans football stadium across the river

I lived in Nashville, Tennessee for nearly 10 years (1996 – 2005).  It was the first time my wife and I had ever moved relatively far away from our core family and friends to set out on a new adventure.  Two of my three daughters were born in Nashville (all three were conceived there … wink, wink).

I just realized that it has now been 10 years since I lived there.  I look back on our time there with fond memories, but I am also keenly aware that you can never go back because things change.  The world just keeps on spinning.  Life must go on.  We all move forward in time, whether we like it or not.

Since leaving Nashville I have taken my family with me all around the world. I’m happy and fulfilled by the experiences we have gained and wouldn’t change a thing, but sometimes I look back on Nashville with fondness and a strange longing for something that I know I can never get back.

You know what I mean?

Nashville

For example, we had a really nice house that was kind of out in the country, but still relatively close to civilization.  For most of our time there, the view from our front yard (pictured above) was a bucolic scene of cattle grazing on the rolling, green hills. The closest structure was a barn off in the distance.

In 2004 the land owner sold the property to a developer and within a few years that bucolic scene became a picture of dense suburban sprawl. We could see roofs, fences, people’s porches and gas grills within 10 feet of our front fence.  We still had 5 acres out back, but the beauty, peace and serenity were just gone somehow.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not against progress, I’m totally in support of the American dream. I’m not mad, just disappointed that the reality of the universe is that nothing good comes without some bad.  There are always pros and cons to any progress or change. The people in those McMansions are probably thrilled to live on those beautiful, rolling hills and are benefitting from the rich soil that keeps their lawns so green (from all of the years of cow poop).  It was just a shame that our little slice of paradise was gone … so we sold out and moved on.

Here are a few photos depicting our life in our little house in the country a decade ago:

NashvilleNashvilleNashvilleNashville

Leave a Reply

